World War II and Korean War Veterans Honored at Luncheon


World War II and Korean War Veterans Honored at Luncheon

On Thursday, December 7, 2017, the Grundy County Veteran’s Historical Society and a multitude of volunteers were host to the Seventh Annual Veterans Recognition Luncheon at Coalmont Community Center. The group invited ALL WWII Veterans and Korean War Veterans to come together for a celebration of their outstanding Service to our Country! Veterans and a guest were to treated to a home cooked meal from volunteers in the community.
The group of men and women were given information in regards to the Honor Flight Program by Sergeant Major Larry E. Williams. “If you know of any WWII and Korean Veterans that have not had the opportunity to take the Honor Flight, please contact Sergeant Major Larry E. Williams at 931-924-3000 and he will get these deserving individuals on an Honor Flight to Washington DC.” Stated Ray Winton.
Veteran Kimberly King with the Sequatchie Valley Honor Guard presented a certificate to each Veteran in attendance. Senator Janice Bowling sent a flag and a Tennessee Pin to each Veteran and Tyler McCullough, Grundy County Trustee did the presentation in her stead. State Representative Paul Sherrell and County Mayor Michael Brady spoke to the Veterans in attendance. Ms. Patricia Street spoke on behalf of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. Ms. Amy Dennis from US Congressman Desjarlais’s office was on hand to offer assistance.
The late Mr. Y. B. Ashby started this luncheon celebration seven years ago. The Veteran’s Historical Society and Ray Winton works toward continuing to recognize and honor our Veterans in many ways. For more information, to update a list of Living WWII or Korean Veterans from Grundy County, or to volunteer, please contact Gayle VanHooser at 931-692-3621.

L-R Front Row: Mr. Ralph Burnett, Mr. John K Myers, Mr. John F. Bohr, Mr. Fernando “Tony” King, Mr. Thomas Rollins, Mr. Sammy K. Parmley, Mr. R. B. Lawrence, and Mr. Frank L. Parks (All WWII Veterans)
L-R Second Row: Ms. Amy Dennis, Ms. Kimberly King (Honor Guard), Mr. Ray Winton(Korean), Mr. Leon “Gabby” Tate (Korean), Mr. Dale Phipps (Korean), Mr. Clayburn Turner (Korean), Mr. Ralph Rieben (Korean), and Representative Paul Sherrell
L-R Third Row: Sergeant Major Larry E. Williams, Mr. Seann Tate (Desert Storm), Mr. Mike Zdanowski, Vietnam (Honor Guard), Mr. Randall Barrett, Vietnam, Mr. Martin Glen Roland, Vietnam, and Mr. Jack Summers, Vietnam (Honor Guard)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here